2006 Reading Toastmasters Humorous Speech Contest

After the 2006 Area 13 International Speech Contest, I decided I would compete in the 2006 District 38 Humorous Speech Contest.  I decided on a subject which I felt would be easy to find a lot of funny material; Beer.

I got right to work researching the humorous side of beer and when I had my fill, I put my own spin on the favorite beverage and how it was first created.  As it turns out, according to the lost book of Mike, beer was created by God, on the seventh day, while he watched the Green Bay Packers play the Detroit Lions.  I was proud of my speech, although I realized it needed a lot of polishing.

The day of the club contest arrived and, though I knew I still had a lot of work to do, I felt very confident about my chances.  I was competing with two fellow club members who were relatively new to Toastmasters as well.  Both speeches where very good and gave the club lots to laugh about.  Then I gave my speech.

There were a few parts of the speech I was a little nervous about because I knew I was pushing the limits of decency, but I felt my comments where within the boundaries of good taste, although barely so.  I got the reactions I suspected I would and when it was time to sit back down, I felt I had done very well.  At the end of the night, my feelings where confirmed, when I was given my very first speech contest trophy ever.  A trophy I still have to this day.

Before I left for the night, I had a chance to speak to several of the more experienced speakers about the speech.  They gave me plenty of advice.  The most important was, if you think your pushing the boundaries of good taste, someone in the audience will think your way over those same boundaries.  No one came out and told me so, but I gathered I was lucky that none of the judges where offended.

Over the next couple of weeks I polished the speech until I felt it was ready for the Area 13 Humorous Speech Contest.  I pulled back from the boundaries a little, although, I remained slightly edgy.  How could I not.  It was a humorous speech about beer for crying out loud.

Leave a Reply

