Welcome to My Blog

I’ve been a member of Toastmasters International since 2004. In that time, I’ve had some success in speech competitions and have held a few officer roles including Area Governor for Area 13 (Berks County Area) in District 38. In the time I’ve been with Toastmasters, I’ve had more experiences speaking in front of gropes than I can remember. The groups were of many different sizes and the purposes of the speeches were just as varied. I’m very appreciative of the many experiences I’ve had over the past few years and I’d like to share them with you in the hopes you can benefit from them as well.

The bulk of my writing will be about a resolution I made to myself. I have decided I want to be the World Champion of Public Speaking in 2012. I will chronicle what I’ve accomplished so far and the lessons I’ve learned on the way. Then I will begin to chronicle this coming year’s contest through my own eyes.

The world of Public Speaking is a challenging world to live in. It has unimaginable highs and extremely disappointing lows. It’s a world where it’s very easy to meet some of the most talented speakers in the world and gain their wisdom. It’s also a world, after you’ve been in it for a while, where others consider you very talented and you have an opportunity to affect their lives in a very positive way. I love the world of public speaking because of the experiences and the opportunities it has presented to me and because there is so much more it wants to give me.

Over the next few weeks I hope you enjoy my story of what has happened to me so far. After telling my story, I hope you stay with me to find out what happens in the future. Stay with me and we’ll write that future together as we learn about the world of public speaking and how to better understand the fundamentals and the finer points of good communication.

2 responses to “Welcome to My Blog

  1. Hey Mike –

    I just ran across your blog post via my Google alerts. AWESOME! I’m looking forward to reading about your experiences through the contests this coming year. Good luck!

    Cynthia

    Like

  2. speakingwithmike

    Thanks for visiting, Cynthia. I look forward to hearing from you again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

